// Get to know its origins

“Gondomar” is named after the Visigoth King “Flávio Gundemaro” who, in 610 might have established a couto (settlement). However, there are archaeological findings that show that the site must have been inhabited long before. After the advento da nacionalidade (advent of Nationality), D. Sancho demarcated the couto of Gondomar in 1193. In 1515, D. Manuel I granted a foral (charter) to the “Município de Gondomar” (Municipality of Gondomar). Through the years, the Municipality’s shape changed so many times that today it has three parishes: Baguim do Monte, Rio Tinto and Lomba and four Uniões de Freguesias: Fânzeres and São Pedro da Cova; Gondomar (S. Cosme), Valbom and Jovim, Foz do Sousa and Covelo, Melres and Medas.

Brasão Município Gondomar (cor)

Charter of Gondomar

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.